P Mauriat
Antigua Winds

Thread: Prodigy Student Sax

Default Prodigy Student Sax

Hi all - I am a band director/clarinetist... I have a 5th grade student whose mom found him a "Prodigy" Alto saxophone, "Educator- Approved" instrument, new for $200. I'm suspicious of the quality because I don't know this brand. Anyone know it? Thanks.

Default Re: Prodigy Student Sax

I would assume that is an Asian made horn, for that price, it was probably one of the $200 horns on eBay. These saxophones are hit or miss. I have an Asian made alto that plays great except for low Bb (probably a leak) right out of the box. However, the finish isn't very even. Also, the intonation can be a bit wacky in the lower register. I also have an Asian made soprano. It plays fine, but has intonation problems (but that could be because I am new to soprano). I was lucky, but I have heard stories about Asian made horns (particularly a Cecilio saxophone) falling apart in days. There is a kid in my band that plays a no-name saxophone, and it works okay for him (I'm not sure about intonation, though). Just a note, I've heard that the only difference between a student saxophone and top-of-the-line pro model saxophone is the build quality and attention to details (if that makes any difference). I hope that helped.

Sara

Just because you don't know the brand doesn't mean it is going to suck. Hey, if the kid likes it and it plays fairly well in-tune, then that is fine with me. In this economy, $200 towards music is a great thing.

Make sure that the vendor has a good rating and a decent return policy. These instruments are really hit-miss. If you can return it at little or no charge that will make the real difference.
    "Inspiration is for amateurs, Just show up and get the work done!" ---- Chuck Close

Distinguished SOTW Coffee Guru milandro's Avatar