P Mauriat
Antigua Winds

Thread: Jupiter 4C vs Yamaha 4C

Default Jupiter 4C vs Yamaha 4C

Ok so I've been playing sax for around 5 months now and my old mouthpiece was a bit crappy and I thought I'd buy a better one. Yamaha being good for sax's I got one of their 4Cs.

Now I've been playing it a while and it seems to sound quite sharp and out of tune and I can't figure out why. It sounds worse than my old one. I'm not sure if it's the ligature not fitting properly or the cork or if it is generally just a worse mouthpiece. There is also the option I'm not used to it yet and haven't worn it in but it's not really much different to my old one.

Any ideas?

Distinguished SOTW Member/Technician

Default Re: Jupiter 4C vs Yamaha 4C

The lig must keep the reed tight on the mouthpiece and the reed needs to be exactly aligned. No leaks should be at the cork. Are you using a tuner to place the mouthpiece on the cork? All mouthpieces don't fit at the same point.

The reed is secure and aligned properly. I'm not using a tuner but I'm going by ear on position of the mouthpiece.

Forum Contributor 2014 Pete Thomas's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by lol a moose View Post
    The reed is secure and aligned properly. I'm not using a tuner but I'm going by ear on position of the mouthpiece.
    I don't understand this. You say it's sharp, but you are going by ear on the position of the mouthpiece. If you try a different position (pulled out a bit) it will be less sharp. Or else relax your embouchure.

You also say it sounds worse than your old mouthpiece, then "it's not really much different." But then you say your old mouthpiece is crappy.

'm not really following the logic of this.

both of these are standard beginner mouthpieces, and are quite similar. I wouldn't expect much difference between the two, except that maybe I'd personally trust the yamaha more.

Blue Wink Re: Jupiter 4C vs Yamaha 4C

Quote Originally Posted by Pete Thomas View Post