Antigua Winds
AW Reeds
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Trumpet vs Cornet vs Flugelhorn

Hi! I got to try some brasswinds about two years ago. First off was euphonium and then I moved on to flugelhorn. This was before I started playing woodwinds - so I know all the technical differences between those two families. However, I never got to try Trumpet or Cornet. I am looking for a Brasswind but unsure about which one. Euphonium is out of the question - it is too limited. It is almost exclusively used in Brass and Wind bands. I would appreciate of someone could enlighten me on the technical differences between Trumpet, Cornet and Flugelhorn - how the play differently, technique, usage areas and so on. A friend of mine has offered to lend me his trumpet, but I have no chance to try a cornet. What would you guys recommend?

Default Re: Trumpet vs Cornet vs Flugelhorn

If you are talking about Bb instruments all around, the general difference are in tone.

The most prolific Distinguished SOTW poster, Forum Contributor 2014 gary's Avatar
    Hawaiian homey, German resident, doing time in Texas

These are generalities:

- the basic technique for playing is the same.
    - high register and loud playing is easier on the trpt.
    - cornet may be a little more agile than the other two.
    - carrying power:
    - - trumpet
    - - cornet
    - - flugel
    - clarity/purity of sound:
    - - trumpet
    - - cornet
    - - flugel
    - mellowness of sound:
    - - flugel
    - - cornet
    - - trpt

Exceptions abound of course. For example, I said the trpt is the clearest, and most adaptable to high, fast and loud, and yet I play a vintage Martin medium-small bore Committee with a Kanstul copy of Miles' mouthpiece and I get much more of a flugelhorn sound. You would never mistake my sound for Arturo Sandoval's, LOL.