PDA

View Full Version : Is the neck strap the cause of neck and back pain?

queperknuckle
05-31-2006, 08:25 PM
I'm a pretty young guy, but I had been feeling a little pain in my neck. I couldn't figure out what it was, so I decided to take a two week vacation from my daily sax practice routine. Guess what? The pain went away. When I play, I let the neck strap hang on my neck, relegating the job of holding the sax to my neck and back. Over a period of time, it seems like that 10 or so pound sax just becomes to much for my body (i've been playing for 12 years. there is no telling what kind of effects this has had). Do any other sax players have back/neck stiffness and discomfort from playing? Is the neck strap to blame? Any ideas how to get around this?

RS
05-31-2006, 08:47 PM
It's possible that the strap is cutting into your neck and pinching a nerve. This would cause some pain. If you're using a narrow strap consider a wider strap like a Ray Hyman supersling or a neotech. Or maybe try putting some padding like a small towel between the strap and your neck. If the problem is too much weight on your neck the solution would probably be a harness type rig.

Rackety Sax
05-31-2006, 09:00 PM
I advise you to use a sax harness which will take the weight off your neck. You can search the site for suggested brands. I think I really messed up my neck from having a sax hang on it too much when I was growing up.

S Reno
05-31-2006, 09:18 PM
You might consider a shoulder strap also. I occasionally suffer from a pinched nerve in my neck and shoulder and have been using this shoulder strap for a couple months and it works for me so far:

http://www.music123.com/BG-Shoulder-Strap-i85263.music?source=priceg

queperknuckle
06-01-2006, 12:10 AM
Thanks guys. I didn't even know shoulder straps and harnesses existed. I'm playing alto, so I think I'm going to give a shoulder strap a try. I'm gonna go to my local music store, and if they don't have it, buy it at music123.