View Full Version : scoop or scam? you decide...
Jason DuMars
05-25-2003, 09:34 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2534024707&category=16 234
how about a 5 digit Mark VI tenor for $1400...
a. Picture of the serial number looks a little "odd", like I've seen them somewhere before ...
b. Tell me how close these pics look to http://www.cybersax.com/features/56k_mark6_ten.html
More eBay fraud? It's the same serial #!
(of course, it is possible that Cybersax did sell this horn, but I doubt it.)
I sent an e-mail to the winner of the auction, knowing the speed at which eBay moves. According to some posts on our old forum, ireedman is a respected buyer/seller. I don't think he deserves to be scammed.
I'm also going to notify Cybersax.com.
I got an e-mail back from Cybersax.com (on a holiday weekend!) and they confirm that it's their horn in that ad and no, they aren't selling it. Cybersax has contacted the buyer and seller.
So, everything looks like it's gonna end well!
==========
I have sort-of a photographic memory -- maybe a "trick" memory would be a more accurate description: If someone presents me with picture or information X, I can generally say whether and where I've seen it before.
I tend to browse most dealers monthly and look for eBay ads that are of interest for my website weekly. So, that means I can spot "fraud" (or, at least "foul") if I'm looking for it because I've seen thousands of horns.
Jason DuMars
05-26-2003, 01:55 AM
you're a great sax sleuth Pete! Thanks for helping me take a bite of crime!
we're going to need a way to step up the pressure on these fraudulent auctions. maybe we could have a fraudulent auction thread specifically for this purpose?
iReedman has contacted me and all is OK -- the seller has been suspended :D. Darn fast turnaround for eBay.
(I love editing my posts)
=====
Jason, I've suggested that to Harri and I'll resuggest it again: I've sent him an e-mail.
www.cybersax.com sent me another e-mail confirming that they've seen at least four auctions using pictures stolen from their website and they've seen at least one using pictures stolen from www.worldwidesax.com.
I think it's of benefit to the saxophone community to have a section here dealing specifically with bad eBayer's -- considering how many auctions are there.
pknight
05-26-2003, 04:49 AM
The "Hollywood" background was also suspicious. This graphic is used by Cassell Music in Hollywood, and was probably lifted from one of their listings.
Powered by vBulletin™ Version 4.0.0 Copyright © 2010 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.