PDA

View Full Version : Shipping a saxophone...What to know?

IntrestedSax
05-28-2009, 12:49 PM
I am totally new to shipping anything and i need to ship a saxophone. My plan was basically to package very well then take to my ups store and be like here you go can you ship this here?

1. Are there any problems with this plan?

2. Whats the deal with shipping internationally?

3. Who is the best shipping country?

Thanks leave any comments

Enviroguy
05-28-2009, 02:44 PM
Actually, I've had the best luck using good ol' USPS. Properly wrapped, even a bari sax package is small enough to go into their system. And their international shipping rates are great.

Here is the way I do it:

1. Bubble wrap the horn in the case so it cannot move around inside the case. Be careful not to use too much wrap inside the case where it is hard to close. That can crush or bend the keywork. I also usually add foam or wadded up wrapping paper at the neck receiver and bottom bow for extra cushion.

2. Once I've wrapped the horn inside the case, I then wrap the case itself with bubble wrap and then put the whole thing inside a large plastic bag or trash bag and seal it up to avoid water intrusion. Then the whole thing goes inside a heavy cardboard box and extra padding is added to secure the case firm inside the box and help absorb any shocks that the box may take during shipping.

3. Next I seal the cardboard box well with shipping tape and I wrap the box ends with shipping tape to help assure the box cannot come open. I then fix the shipping label to the box and cover it with clear shipping tape except for the part where the scan bars are. I also write the address and return address somewhere else on the box in case the shipping label is damaged.